Skip to main content


What is known today as the Department of Religions was established as one of the foundation departments of the University with the name “Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies” on October 25th 1976. The change of name was effected in 1977 when Christian Studies was added to the number of courses offered in the department.

The foundation Lecturers were three; a reader, an assistant lecturer and a graduate assistant. These were joined within four years by five other lecturers who taught Islamic Studies and Arabic together. At the moment we have 20 lecturers, over 400 undergraduate students and about 70 postgraduate students.
The department now runs three academic programmes: Christian Religious Studies, Comparative Religious Studies and Islamic Religious Studies.

Research Interest of Professors-Department of Religions

(i)      Professor Oyeronke Olademo

History of Religion/Comparative Religious Studies with particular emphasis on acheter cialis culture and women in society. Her research is focused primarily on Yoruba religion and Christianity.

(ii)  Professor Yasir Anjola Quadri

Islamic thought with special focus on Sufism, philosophy and ethics.

(iii)  Professor R.A.  Akanmidu

Philosophy, Ethics and Phenomenology

(iv)  Professor Is-haq Olanrewaju  Oloyede

 Islamic Law and Jurisprudence, interfaith dialogue and conflict resolution.

(v) Professor Yahya Oyewole Imam

Islamic Law and Jurisprudence, interfaith dialogue and religion and science

(vi)      Professor Badmas, Olanrewaju Yusuf

Science of the Glorious Qur’an, Dialogue, Peace and Conflict Resolution as well as history of Islamic movement.

(v)       Professor  Rotimi Williams Omotoye

Church History, African Christianity, Pentecostal Churches, Ecumenical Movements and Inter-religious relations.